Emma Nutrition

Simplifying the science through cooking and education. When I'm not on Mummy duties…

Shopping on a budget

Leave a comment

Can it be done? With difficulty these days huh?! After months of an ever-increasing food shopping bill I’m taking the New Year’s resolution approach to it. No more! Enough! Food shopping will be drastically reduced. The catch? Food shopping on a budget WITHOUT compromising on quality. Challenging….

Today was the start. Usually I shop at Sainsbury’s which is a 15 minute drive from home. Today I drove 5 minutes to Aldi to get some porridge oats, toilet paper and baby wipes. I got 2 bags of shopping. This over-shopping could be part of my over-spending problem but hey those 2 bags were only £20 whereas Sainsbury’s would usually charge me over £30 for 2 bags.

How about the quality? I compared the porridge oats. I bought the Aldi brand oats at 7.5p/100gm. Their branded product at 10.1p/100gm (incorrectly labelled at 12p/100gm) was more expensive than my usual one – Sainsbury’s own brand at 10p/100gm. I expected little puffs of processed powder but alas, I was pleasantly surprised! They looked exactly the same as my Sainsbury’s ones.

Certainly manufactured on the same machinery setting as the clump sizes look identical to the naked eye. Perhaps even in the same factory….? The colour difference is the photographer’s lack of skill 🙂

Author: EmmaNutrition

Emma Wight-Boycott MSc mBANT is a natural health expert with a passion for simplifying the science. Emma works with post natal mums, weekend runners and those with digestive issues to find the source of their health issues and rediscover their health mojo.

Leave a comment

